When It Comes Completely Undone

For a seed to achieve its greatest expression, it must come completely undone. The shell cracks, its insides come out and everything changes. To someone who doesn’t understand growth, it would look like complete destruction. ~ Cynthia Occelli

time-period-for-seed-germination

The shell cracks, its insides come out and everything changes.

My dear and close friend of 30 years hates to plan.

She says every time she makes a plan, something happens that causes her plan to fail.

Some years ago, I had been happily employed with an organization I loved.

I’d grown up with this organization and held a variety of positions during the 20 years I served there. I loved my job!

I figured I would stay there until I retired.

That had been my plan.

Then it fell apart. Everything I knew, everything I believed was turned on its head. And it became painful for me to stay there.

But I was too afraid to leave.

I was afraid because my identity and purpose were tied into my role. I thought leaving would strip me of who I was. I thought it would destroy my life.

When I finally left, it was devastating. I was broken.

Or that’s how it seemed.

Little did I know that it would be the beginning of new growth.

***

**The preceding article is one that I previously published at TALKTODIANA.  I’ve dusted it off and cleaned it up for your reading pleasure.

I hope it serves as a reminder that you are so much more than your career.

And I hope it encourages all who are currently experiencing brokenness – there are great opportunities for growth and joy after the dust settles.

The purpose of this blog is to facilitate discussions that will help us all to better engage with our communities. Your participation and feedback are most welcomed and valued. Please join the discussion below.

8 comments

  1. pattyalcala

    Thank you for republishing this article. We tend to define ourselves by what we do instead of who we are. There is pain and confusion when you lose one of those identities. My life has been turned upside down and sideways and I have to get up and keep going. Sometimes it takes longer than others.

Join the Discussion

