Are You Building Community?

family

I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples.” Mother Teresa

What is community?

Quite simply, community is a group of people who live, work and/or play together.

Communities consist of neighbourhoods, work teams, families and clubs, etc.

Healthy community is:

A safe place where each member can respectfully be uniquely themselves;

where disagreements are OK because each person is loved;

where each individual is recognized for the gifts they bring to the table;

where others need us and we can count on them when we’re in need;

a deep understanding, based on experience, that together we can weather any storm.

I want to be more intentional about building community.
I want my family, my team to know I’ve got their backs.
I want to know they’ve got mine.
I want to really listen without judgment.
I want to build people up, not tear them down.
I want to be part of something bigger than myself.

What about you?
Is community important to you?
What are you doing to build it where you live?

The purpose of this blog is to facilitate discussions that will help us all to better engage with our communities. Your participation and feedback are most welcomed and valued. Please join the discussion below.

4 comments

  1. Tracy Lee Karner

    I love this! I’ve recently begun volunteering at an agency, which does a fabulous job of building community. They serve the many needs of adults with developmental disabilities, and the respect between all people, staff and clients, is phenomenal. I love being there, and contributing to the building of community.

    Every Thursday a group comes together, both staff and clients, to create spontaneous poetry. It’s like a communal song of love and laughter. Fabulous experience. Today we’re eating a Thanksgiving meal together.

    Thanks for the post, Diana. Good words. ❤

Join the Discussion

