Service, My Word For 2015

 Eric Liddell when asked how he came to become a great runner said, “God made me fast, and when I run, I feel His pleasure.

imagesWhat stands out to me in this quote, is that Liddell recognized his talent, his God-given gift if you will, and ran with it – pardon the pun.

Even though he had raw talent, it couldn’t have always been easy for him. But Liddell was passionate about running and so he gave it all he had.

As we come to the end of this year, I find myself reflecting on the last twelve months and wondering if I gave it all. Like many of you, I chose a word for 2014 – tenacity.

It’s not easy, when you first start a business. You really have to want it to succeed and doggedly stick to the plan.

In 2014 The Other Bottom Line turned one, I had the pleasure of working with four clients throughout the year and I learned a tremendous amount about facilitating processes and working with others. Sure, there have been obstacles to overcome but I’ve really enjoyed it and am so grateful to my clients for the opportunity to work with them!

As is my custom I have chosen my word for 2015 – service. Do you also choose a word for the year? If so, what is your word for 2015?

I hope you were able to use your gifts and are satisfied with your accomplishments in 2014. And I wish you and yours a Happy and Fulfilling New Year!

Warmest regards,

Diana

16 comments

  1. Wyrd Smythe

    Somehow your talking about Liddell had me thinking of Gibbs’ Rule #5: You don’t waste good. (Do you watch NCIS? Do you know about Gibbs’ rules? Most of them are quite good.) But I don’t have any wyrd for the year… you know me, Lady Di… I’m too wyrdy to have just one! 😀

    (But maybe “joy” or “peace” would be good ones.)

      • Wyrd Smythe

        We’re all different, and I’m not trying to persuade anyone about anything here, but that doesn’t seem to have been my experience. (On the other hand, I place such a high value on laughter and joy that it’s not surprising to me at all that I could have them almost regardless of my inner state. On the other other hand, maybe I’ve always had a kind of inner peace that forms a foundation for the rest? Interesting question… I’ll have to ponder it!)

      • elizabeth2560

        You are right. We are all different. I know of people who always laugh and seem so cheery on the surface and yet underneath are unhappy. They do not have that inner peace and so they are restless. And I know of others who are not the revelers and yet who are really happy and contented within themselves. They have that inner peace. Hmm maybe that could be called inner joy. When I think about it, I was confusing ‘laughter’ with happiness and it isn’t the same thing. Maybe inner peace and joy are the same thing.

      • Wyrd Smythe

        Good points, all!

        I can only speak for myself, but joy is what I feel (almost overwhelmingly sometimes) at the end of A Christmas Carol or when I watch a space shuttle launch or when moved by music or — sometimes — even a particularly beautiful sunset.

        “Tears of joy” is the sort of thing I mean. Joy can overwhelm me so much sometimes I briefly lose the power of speech.

  2. joannerambling

    Thank you I am hoping that 2015 will be another great year for me and mine, I do believe though that for the most part we are in control of how things treat us, I choose to be happy it doesn’t always happen but for the most part that is what I want and I am getting better at not letting things get to me

  3. Gina's Professions for PEACE

    What a terrific post Diana, and that opening quote is incredible (and with a perfect photo too). Has me contemplating that when we do something we’re good at, and keep working to improve it, like Liddell we can ‘feel His pleasure’. Love that so much. Very inspiring. You are always inspiring to me, and I imagine as you continue to do your good ‘service’ this year (and always) that you too will feel His pleasure. Bright blessings today and always! ❤

Join the Discussion

