What Are You Doing To Build Community?

images5P9L2SQL

I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples.

“I alone cannot change the world, but I can cast a stone across the waters to create many ripples.” Mother Teresa

What is community?

Quite simply, community is a group of people who live, work and/or play together.

Communities consist of neighbourhoods, work teams, families and clubs, etc.

Healthy community is:

  • A safe place where each member can respectfully be uniquely themselves;
  • where disagreements are OK because each person is loved;
  • where each individual is recognized for the gifts they bring to the table;
  • where others need us and we can count on them when we’re in need;
  • a deep understanding, based on experience, that together we can weather any storm.

I want to be more intentional about building community.

I want my family, my team to know I’ve got their backs. I want to know they’ve got mine. I want to really listen without judgment. I want to build people up, not tear them down. I want to be part of something bigger than myself.

Let’s face it. We need each other.

Is community important to you? What are you doing to build it where you live and work?

The purpose of this blog is to facilitate discussions that will help us all to better engage with our communities. Your participation and feedback are most welcomed and valued. Please join the discussion below.

5 comments

  1. Dennis Fischman

    It is definitely easier to build community in one place, over time. Listening to people helps, and so does going out of your way to help them, especially in times of trouble. Model how you think community should work, then ask for help when it’s needed. You are weaving a web of relationships that will strengthen you all.

Join the Discussion

