No Regrets – Is It Possible?

I’d rather have a life of “OH WELLS” than a life of “WHAT IFS.”

imagesHKOPD85BI saw the above quote on my Twitter feed the other day and it immediately spoke to me.

Because it’s easier for me to take my lumps in ‘oh wells’ than it is to take them in ‘what ifs.’

It also reminded me of a post I’d seen months ago (link below) about the regrets people have on their deathbed.

And my thoughts about the areas I need to work on; specifically regarding my personal relationships, areas I have been consciously and unconsciously working on since.

According to Bronnie Ware the Top 5 regrets people have on their deathbed are:

  1. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself.
  2. I wish I didn’t work so hard.
  3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
  4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
  5. I wish that I had let myself be happier.

To read more see Nurse reveals the top 5 regrets people make on their deathbed

Do any of the above points resonate with you? What are you doing about it?

**I originally wrote and published this article on talktodiana in January 2015**

The purpose of this blog is to facilitate discussions that will help us all to better engage with our communities. Your participation and feedback are most welcomed and valued. Please join the discussion below.

3 comments

  1. Wyrd Smythe

    I thought the list seemed familiar. I remember your earlier post.

    I think I said then that I’m pretty good on all of them except #4. I’m a bit of a recluse.

  2. Wyrd Smythe

    I hit [Post Comment] too soon. To answer your question, no, I don’t think it’s possible to life a *full* life without regrets. We all make mistakes, and hopefully we regret those mistakes.

    But I do think it’s far better to regret things you did rather than things you never did.

Join the Discussion

