Bad Luck…Or Is It?

fortune_cookie_2

You never know what worse luck your bad luck has saved you from. – Cormac McCarthy

Can you look back on a particular situation where you are sure divine intervention saved you a world of trouble?

Because even when we plan for the future to ensure that we will be prepared for whatever may come, bad or unforeseen things can happen to foil our carefully laid plans.

Sometimes what seems like a bad thing at the time, ends up being the best thing that ever happened to us.

Many years ago, I missed catching a ride with someone because I answered the phone and ended up chatting longer than I had intended.

Irritated with the situation and mumbling under my breath, I hailed a cab. Upon arriving at my destination, I learned that my would-have-been driver had been in an accident.

I’ve experienced a handful of similar situations with varying degrees of seriousness. Enough to make me more patient when things don’t always go my way.

A missed flight…

an unsuccessful job application…

a strategy that doesn’t work out as planned…

…might just be the best thing that ever happened.

Has something seemingly bad ever worked out for the best for you?

The purpose of this blog is to facilitate discussions that will help us all to better engage with our communities. Your participation and feedback are most welcomed and valued. Please join the discussion below.

3 comments

  1. Wyrd Smythe

    Never been sure of divine intervention, but there have been times where it’s a possible interpretation (but so is coincidence). The thing about luck is that it goes both ways. We tend to be very impressed by luck sometimes, but if divine intervention is a real thing, why are there so many innocent people in such awful conditions? I’d gladly trade some of mine if that were possible.

    In fact, in the past dozen years or so, four people from my “circle of friends” has died (through no fault of their own: cancers and in once case a sudden brain aneurysm). All of those people were great people (better people than I am), and all of them left huge and terrible holes in the lives of those they left behind. And here I am, chugging on, and about the best you could say is a small handful of people would miss me a little. All four of those I would have traded places with in a second, but that’s just not how it works.

    So divine intervention is a hard thing to believe in. Seems awfully picky and unjust mostly.

Join the Discussion

